The restoration of old buildings in major cities in the world involves a lot of government expenditures. This money should be used in new housing and road development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that some governments spend a fortune on renovating ancient buildings without allocating them for better infrastructure development projects. It seems to me that the idea is not true for many reasons which are stated below. History is an important aspect of a society and it helps to understand the roots of the development of a culture. Furthermore, architectural monuments can be considered as a mirror of the cultural and lifestyle values of a specific time period. Therefore, they need to be protected to study ancient history. In addition, there are world organizations which are keen on protecting heritage buildings and towns and helping the government to restore them back to their old beauty. However, many people think that these buildings need not be protected and renovated and completely new buildings should be erected according to modern requirements. This is not a valid argument since there are many projects that kept the old building and build a new addition without disturbing its architectural value of it. For,example there Louver museum in France is an addition to the existing building and it attracts many visitors due to its shape and form. In addition, these historical places can be operated as tourist attraction points and the money can be used to preserve the place. Furthermore, the government should set an example for the general public to promote reusing old buildings and materials to make sustainable cities. In conclusion, though the government should spend money on modern infrastructure development projects, the ancient buildings also need to be preserved for their place and historical value.