In many countries, the government prioritizes economic growth over all other concerns. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

In many countries, governments prioritize economic growth rather than all other concerns. The advantages of doing so are an increase in people’s average income and the maturity of society, while the main disadvantages are environmental problems such as global warming, and pollution. If the government places the most importance on improving the economy, an increase in wages and the improvement of society are expected; if the economy grows, both the income of individuals and the government increase, which will allow further investments by individuals in education and by governments in scientific research, and this makes good circulation to promote the maturity of society. For instance, after World War 2, Japan prioritized economic advancement and education. This has created many successful companies, and scientific technologies have advanced significantly, making Japan one of the richest nations in the world. This has promoted people’s lifestyles more comfortable with higher incomes than ever before: the same thing can be true for other East Asian nations. However, there are some disadvantages for nations with economic success, such as global warming and contamination. More countries become rich, more places are industrialized, and this creates more carbon dioxide and more pollution problems because heating or cooling houses and buildings consumes a lot of electricity, which is connected to more carbon dioxide produced by energy plants, and factories emit a lot of polluted air and water. For example, the United States and China are famous for being the largest contributors to global warming and contamination, both of which comprise most leading factories worldwide. Likewise, the maturity of the nation is closely connected to the environmental concerns. In conclusion, although in many countries, governments prioritize economic improvement over all other concerns to make their own countries rich and competitive, there are disadvantages in environmental issues such as global warming and pollution in the world.