In many countries women no longer feel the need to get married. Some people believe that this is because women are able to earn their own income and therefore do not require the financial security that marriage can bring. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, females from all around the world are choosing to stay unmarried. It is argued that their choice is related to the fact that they have an occupation and are able to provide for themselves, so they do not need to rely on marriage for financial stability. I completely disagree with this statement and this essay will examine why income is not the motive for women to marry or not. First of all, it is a common misconception that females choose to spend their lives with a spouse because he will provide for them. For many centuries, girls were allowed to neither receive an education nor have an occupation. Men, firstly their fathers and later their husbands, enforced women to behave as they want, for example, do domestic chores and rear children. Unfortunately, beliefs regarding gender roles continue to exist, therefore now that females can escape from them and be independent, they decide to stay single and forbid men to have any authority over them. Furthermore, women have suffered many years to achieve equality and fight stereotypes that were existing in societies, and they prefer to focus on their careers, rather than on marriage. Even now, in modern-day societies, they struggle to make governments legislate regulations that will oblige companies to pay their employees equally, regardless of their sex. However, only a few countries have eliminated this gap, for instance Sweeden and Finland. Female workers continue to receive lower payments, so it is not the fact that they feel secure about income that makes them stay single but their imperative need to become successful a find their niche in the job market. In conclusion, more and more women decide to stay unmarried and this issue has caused a great discussion in many countries. This essay illustrated that it is not the income that women receive that keeps them from marriage but their need to be autonomous and pursue their careers.