In many countries, plastic shopping bags are the main type of rubbish. They cause water and land pollution, so they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that plastic disposal is the leading cause of environmental pollution and should be banned indefinitely. I completely agree with this statement and will share various reasons to support its ban. In many nations, plastic littering is a primary reason for ground pollution, which affects people's lives in dangerous ways. With the advancement in industrial production and the global population explosion, it has created an enormous demand for consumable products; therefore, many commercial firms sought plastic bags as a cheap and convenient choice for people to carry. and store their purchases. However, this idea backfired. Without inadequate recycling or a proper disposal plan, people started littering these bags, due to which many sewerage lines got blocked and the drainage systems got clogged. Moreover, people burn them as a means to dispose of them but end up putting their health at risk. For instance, the Bangladesh government replaces polythene with natural bio-degradable bags for commercial use. The ecological impact of plastic bags on marine and terrestrial ecosystems is devastating, as they take hundreds of years to decompose and often end up harming wildlife. Often, birds suffer as they are strangled and wrapped in bags and are unable to get themselves out of them. This also affects the fishing industry as well. Fish often produce microplastics, which then settle in the digestive tract of fish. This can lead to unhealthier and reduced marine populations due to malnutrition. For humans, the microplastics found in fish can cause diseases like cancer. Furthermore, plastic greatly hinders the growth of marine plants and vegetation. In conclusion, I must say that plastic bags should be banned completely since they are a major contributor to global pollution.