In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via the internet, and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is it a positive or negative development in your opinion?

Nowadays, everyone is having internet connection. Internet makes it possible to speak to your friends by messenger or Facebook and do your groceries and clothes shopping online. Going in your car to work is also not necessary anymore, because internet makes it possible for some jobs that you can work 100% from home. I believe this is not good for our society that people can do everything from home because people start to care less about others. Firstly, shopping from home is bad for small businesses in the town. If there are not enough customers the local stores will close their doors and not come back. This results in unemployment and empty building but also the social aspect that goes with shopping in person is gone. For, example the old lady who goes to the store not only for groceries but also for small talk. The small talk can be with the person behind the counter or the customers in the store. Secondly, always working from home give the person no connection with the company. Going to your job and speaking to your colleagues in person makes the job more personal. This is important, otherwise people are more willing to change easily from companies. Thirdly, always staying at home gives people no awareness of what is happing outside the house. If people do not participate in society then everyone becomes lonely and more selfish. To make a better world you need to do that together and staying at home is not an option. In conclusion, the arrival of the internet is very useful but can not be replaced by communication face to face. To keep society going people need to be there in person.