In some cultures, children are encouraged to compete against each other. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this approach?

For the last decade, the educational process in many countries has undergone different changes. And in some countries, these changes include encouraging children to compete with each other. This method has its own advantages, which, in my opinion, outweigh all its disadvantages. The main advantage of such an approach is that competition increases the academic performance of some pupils. Like in sports, competition in science helps to motivate children to be the first or among the best performers. Encouraging children provides them with a simple, real and absolutely reachable goal to get a higher score or, for instance, to get first place in a local science contest, which helps them to concentrate on it and spend more time studying. Another benefit of this approach is that those of them who were determined to perform without any additional motivation will do their best to reach first place and therefore will get even higher scores and results, in turn, motivate other school children to try harder and perform better, increasing the academic performance of the whole class. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks. For example, not every child is ready to compete and withstand all the strength of this process. It might be difficult for some of them, but the desire not to be a low performer will push them to work harder and harder, which can cause mental and physical exhaustion in the end. Additionally, some pupils do not consider contests and other forms of competition as motivation but, on the contrary, as additional pressure on them. To conclude, it is an essential part of an educational process to always search for new and modern ways to improve this. Encouraging schoolchildren to compete with each other is definitely one of that ways. Although it has several drawbacks such as negative mental pressure and the ability to cause some physical exhaustion, it has palpable benefits, such as a simple goal to achieve and additional motivation to work harder.