some people believe that young people who commit serious crimes should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, there have been growing concerns about teenage criminals. As an answer to this issue, some people have claimed that young people should be punished in the same ways as adults. This is true; however, I personally disagree with this statement because teenagers are able to be improved. Firstly, teenagers are too young to recognize bad crimes. They are more immature and inexperienced than adults so they cannot realise how their acts will negatively affect others. I understand that without being taught about morality, they could not acknowledge serious crimes. For instance, if guardians such as parents or teachers have never taught their children about robbing, children will likely take friends' things just because they look attractive. They couldn't imagine why it was a crime. Hence, I suggest that since children lack of ability to judge crimes, we should give them chances to realize morality themselves. Moreover, if we put harsh punishments like adults, children will lose their self-confidence. Having strong punishments, young people will be discouraged from improving their lives. For example, it is hard for them to get a job or go to University because they are marked as criminals which has many restrictions on living. Another concern is that our society can miss intelligent individuals by giving punishments. Giving limitations on people who were punished before, those people cannot show their abilities even if they are genius about something. Therefore, I believe we should improve programs for young criminals to develop their abilities rather than just punishing them. In conclusion, I firmly disagree that young criminals should be punished harshly like adults because this can hinder them from improving their capabilities and they are too young to judge their behaviours. For these reasons, I think, instead of providing punishments, we need to assist young people to prevent serious crimes.