Nowadays people are affected by social media and internet. Is it a good or bad trend in your opinion? Explain it by giving your own examples.

There is no doubt that technological advancements have changed our lives. Therefore, some individuals believe that the internet and social media have greatly influenced folks. In my opinion, this trend has more benefits than drawbacks and I will discuss it in the essay. Technological advances have proved a boon to us in a number of ways. First of all, it is now easier to access new information. This is because of various search engines available, such as Google and Yahoo as one can get thousands of results by typing topic-related keywords. Moreover, there are plenty of educational groups on social networking websites such as Facebook and Whatsapp and members can get subject-related information from these groups. This would be beneficial for students as well as scientific communities, who could read plenty of novel research through these mediums. Despite the above-mentioned advantages, there are some pitfalls associated with the use of the world wide web and social media. First of all, social media has negatively influenced the lives of youngsters as they spend most of their time on social media while posting stuff and updating statuses. For example, Instagram is a social networking platform where a number of followers access an individual's popularity. Therefore, in order to gain popularity, teenagers start showing off their lives on the internet, thus giving the chance to stalkers and blackmailers to harm them. In conclusion, although the internet and social networking sites have some negative impacts on youth, data access and better connectivity are the positive points which outweigh them. I believe that these pitfalls can be overcome if we start giving prior instructions to our children regarding the limited and safe usage of these sources.