In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why people buy imported food? What can be done to encourage people to buy local food?

It is believed that the majority of people pay for imported foodstuff instead of local products due to their high quality. This writer believes that raising taxes on those types of food is likely to encourage people to buy them. To begin, it can be acknowledged that products which are imported from overseas are recognised by their qualities before being accepted to go inland. This is because the well-being of customers must be ensured perfectly as well as the reputation of exporting nations. For instance, Vietnamese cargos will be checked at the harbours by American securities in case of having substandard food. Therefore, the safety of inhabitants can be protected from potential dangers and the high quality of goods will increase the fame of exporting nations. It must also be considered that local food should be more considered. The most effective approach is to raise taxes on imported goods in order to create a profitable source for local governments. Consequently, the economy of a particular country will be reinforced by this tax policy. Take North America as an example, domestic food is sold via the marketplace with a high level of expense, although the real price is quite low. Thus, local food is able to bring revenues for a certain economy and the tax will make residents increase the frequency of paying for domestic food. To conclude, consumers opt for purchasing abroad goods due to their high quality of them, while raising taxes on that might increase the profit of some governments. Hence, each individual has to be aware of the importance of consuming domestic products.