In many countries, the average life expectancy has been increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and for society as a whole? Suggest some solutions.

Now in many countries, the average life span has increased dramatically. In this essay, I intend to explore the issues caused by this phenomenon and offer some effective solutions as well. The problems caused by a much longer average life expectancy are multiple. To begin with, the ageing population creates a huge burden for the government. Specifically, taxpayers must work harder in order to financially support the ageing population who are not in the workforce anymore. Also, it seems that more and more families have fewer and fewer children. In other words, fewer children must look after ageing parents in the long run (e.g. a couple may have to take care of four elderly parents while working full-time and taking care of their children, which realistically becomes a concern for the family). Finally, the quality of life during those very senior years is actually quite low. This is true in that some senior citizens do not really enjoy life because of various medical conditions. Given the above problems, I am convinced that immediate actions must be taken to combat this situation. Priority should be given to a more reasonable allocation of government funds. More exactly, the government already wastes a lot of money on space exploration while people have enough problems on the planet; consequently, the government should allocate more funds to support the ageing population. Besides, having more children should be encouraged, especially in developed countries such as Australia and New Zealand. More specifically, the government can give people incentives to give birth to more children so that the structure of the population can strike a balance. Most importantly, the community would be well-advised to take care of the well-being of senior citizens by giving them proper quality time such as learning something new in the community centre. Clearly, the quality of life of senior citizens would certainly be improved if society could make an effort to help them improve their lifestyles. In sum, the increasing average life expectancy has engendered a wide array of problems; therefore, we should take a wide range of measures, including allocating government funds in a more sensible way, encouraging couples to have more children and offering senior citizens more support in the community to address those worrying issues.