Discipline is an ever increasing problem in modern school. Some people think that discipline should be the responsibility of teachers while others think that this it the role of parents. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is irrefutable that discipline has been a rise-up predicament in modern educational institutions. While some people argue that it is in the teacher’s scope of responsibility, I side with those who believe that it should be in the parent's authority. On the one hand, it is acknowledged that making students strictly follow the rules is the educator’s obligation as it follows two reasons. Firstly, they spend more hours in school than at home. The engagement between teachers and their student is essential and should be utilized properly. In addition to this, if the class system lays on discipline and rigorous rules, the chance for children to be more responsible will soar. Secondly, having paid a large amount of money, the parents expect the school to cater to their children’s attitude problems. While it is undeniable that education fee always increases year by year, the expectation of educators also rises. Moreover, it is shown by some modern schools that student reports also include behavioural metrics such as being helpful, being on time, and being active in class discussions. Therefore, learning institutions are in better condition to support children’s discipline for these reasons. On the other hand, I argue that parents should take on the responsibility toward children’s attitudes for two key reasons. Firstly, although the parents have quite a little moment to interact with their kids, the quality of it is more crucial. For instance, prior to bedtime, parents can ask about what improvement their kids can do tomorrow, and what is to be supported to make their endeavour to study. If this happens, it will enable children to strive for excellence. Furthermore, children usually become more transparent about what they feel and are fond of discussing it with parents whenever they encounter problems. This moment should be considered as the critical period for parents to gauge their children’s attitude, consequently supporting them to become more disciplined. In conclusion, although teacher has a longer day in engaging with adolescents during school life, the benefit that they can get while parents are involved with them is more beneficial.