It is a commonly held belief that the death penalty is a good deterrent to prevent heinous crimes. However, others believe that life long sentence is a better deterrent. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The concept of the death penalty has been widely debated across societies. Some countries believe the death penalty is the only way to prevent harsh crimes, while others are of the opinion in favour of lifelong sentences. I believe life imprisonment is always a better option where an individual gets a chance to reflect on his actions. However, the laws of any country are dependent on the society in consideration. The following essay will discuss each view with relevant examples. To begin with, preventing the rise in the crime rate has become one of the major challenges among law enforcers. Capital punishment is the best way to overcome this issue because it can instil fear among criminals and remind them of the consequences. For instance, a survey conducted by the newspaper proved that the death penalty issued to criminals who are involved in terrorism, rape and other dangerous crimes in several countries has in fact reduced the offence rate. Furthermore, the opposite school of thought believes that the state has no right to end life; the death sentence is in itself a violation of human rights and is retaliatory in nature. The premise lies in the fact that long periods behind bars will give criminals chance to repent for their crimes and rectify their mistakes. In,support it can be said that execution does not exist in Scandinavia, yet it has the lowest crime rates in the world. To sum up, based on the crimes, criminals need to be punished accordingly so that they can mitigate crimes and act as strong preventers of committing a crime. Hence, in my opinion, although life imprisonment should be in vogue, the nature of punishment largely depends on the maturity of the society, beliefs of the polity and the law of the land.