Some people assert that history has little value in the contemporary world. But some believe that history is needed today to learn from the past. Discuss both viewpoints and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

History, as a subject, has been under constant scrutiny and its relevance in contemporary times is questioned by educationists. While some believe that things of the past are of no significant value in the present, others advocate that history is a repository of culture and its study is essential for people to know their roots. In this essay, I will discuss both perspectives and try to reach a conclusion. History, at school level, is primarily centered on rote learning of names, dates and facts. Due to this reason, it is considered of lesser importance than subjects like science, technology, computers and mathematics that have better real-life application. A lot of people also feel that studying history does not contribute to the growth and development of anything modern. Consequently, history fades into insignificance as it has little practical relevance. However, it would not be justified to say that history has no definitive merit. Not only is history an embodiment of cultural legacy, it also gives a sneak peek into how a nation has evolved over the years. A number of crucial lessons can be learnt from historical events and thus a study of this discipline will ensure that the mistakes of the past are not repeated. For instance, after the massive destruction and bloodshed caused in the two World Wars, nations have learnt the lesson of maintaining peace and harmony rather than having a desire to control the world. Therefore, to conclude, it can be said that history may not be the most important discipline for study in contemporary times, but its importance cannot be undermined because it serves as a guiding light for mankind.