Television as powerful educational tool or mindless entertainment ? What extent do you agree or disagree ?

In today's era of technology, television, the internet and digital media are the prominent sources of entertainment for humankind. Although some people argue that these inventions especially television is either an 'Idiot box' or an influential educational practice. I will illustrate the pros and cons of this statement in the following paragraphs and explain my opinion. Firstly, TV is a revolution in today's globalised world, because it connects all the people from different countries together. For example, during the FIFA World Cup, every human being was able to watch the matches on live TV at the same time and gain knowledge about different nations' teams and their diverse culture. Moreover, it has countless channels which can be used as a medium of entertainment and educational practice. For instance, A person can watch a news channel to acquire knowledge about different events that are happening nationwide. In addition, people gain an understanding of various species of animals and history by watching channels like Discovery or History TV 18 and learning the cooking from cooking shows. However, this gadget has numerous advantageous features but, it also comes with detrimental impacts such as, if a student starts spending his precious time watching television rather than studying then, it will negatively affect his grades by causing an interruption. Furthermore, this disturbance will lead to less exposure to physical activities for adolescents and adults hence, it will lead to an unhealthy lifestyle and contagious health issues like obesity, weak eyesight, laziness etcetera. To conclude, there are some merits and demerits of a TV set. Therefore, If a person knows how to use the device mindfully then, that invention provides them success and achievements. After a thorough analysis of this subject, it is predicted that the positive impacts of the TV box over the adverse effects of it will be greater because this discovery is a blessing for mankind.