Film stars and celebrities often share their views on public matters that have little to do with their profession. Is this a positive or negative development?

In the present, it is undeniable that famous persons tend to share their personal opinions on public issues more often. In my view, participating in public matters has positive impacts in terms of raising awareness and supporting freedom of speech, all of which will be discussed in this essay. One of the most apparent reasons is that sharing views on social issues can lead to having more awareness in society. This is due to the fact that celebrities own greater power than normal people. Once stars express their thoughts about politics, environmental problems or some campaigns to the public, people are likely to pay attention to those issues and take action on them. For instance, Harry Styles, the famous singer who supported the LQBTQ+ community through his outfits and waving the pride flag in every concert. Those actions can make some people more open about this community. Another point that should not be ignored is supporting freedom of speech. To clarify, every individual should have the right to receive information and express their views. If celebrities share their opinion on public issues, it is likely to make other people want to exchange their thoughts as well, resulting in diverse perspectives which lead to the best solutions in society. For example, one famous star in Thailand shared his opinion on political controversy, and after that others also started speaking out and the government paid more attention to this problem. To summarize, it is evident that this behaviour is a positive development as it can raise awareness and support freedom of speech. However, people should carefully think before posting or commenting on public matters.