The users of social media, such as Facebook, Twitter, are replacing face-to-face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages of this way outweigh the disadvantages?

It is a fact that people are using social media to communicate with each other, more than ever before. Due to the advance of technology texting and video-chatting have almost replaced face-to-face contact. This phenomenon has created a debate on whether the replacement of ways of communication has more advantages than disadvantages for humans. Firstly, some people argue that communicating through social media has many advantages and thus is preferable since it can help individuals interact without them being in the same location. For instance, friends and family members can check on each other anywhere in the world using technology. This positive attribute is very important considering that in the past, decades individuals could wait for years to contact their loved ones because they were living in different countries. To conclude, contact via the internet has no limits in respect of distance and can be very useful. On the other hand, a large portion of the population claims that over-using smartphones to keep in touch underly an important drawback. People have forgotten how to meet and spend time in real life. For example, it is observed that teenagers do not hang out after school. Instead prefer to meet virtually in group chats. That has a negative impact on their social life growing up and many times stress having real bonds with other humans. So, unarguably social media have created a trend where face-to-face communication is absent. To sum up, human connection has been improved with the use of technology but there is a trend to overuse this tool even in situations where it is not needed. Nevertheless, modern ways of communication have been proven very convenient and sometimes even necessary, so I personally believe that the positives clearly outweigh the drawbacks in this debate.