In most countries, the crime rate is often higher in urban areas than in rural areas. Why do you think that is? What can be done to reduce the crime rate?

The number of crimes globally is frequently higher in central areas compared to remote ones. This is mainly because of the large population and poverty combined with unemployment. There are a number of solutions which should be implemented to overcome the issue of high crime rates in urban areas. Firstly, the higher crime rate in urban areas compared to rural ones can be attributed to the large number of populations. In other words, a substantial population in one area is considered attractive for wrongdoing behaviour, thereby encouraging misconduct behaviour and increasing crime rates. Secondly, the high crime rate is also owing to poverty and unemployment, which are well known to increase the competition for finding resources and jobs. As a result, many individuals struggle financially, which leads them to commit crimes to secure their food and daily needs. There are two effective solutions to address the issue of high crime rate in urban areas. One way to tackle this is to ensure that all areas with high population density are provided with street lighting which will hopefully decrease crimes. By doing this, it will help to watch out and supervise the main roads, and it will become very difficult to commit any sort of crime. Another method to reduce the high crime rate in urban areas is to create more jobs and implement poverty reduction programs. This solution would hopefully reduce the rate of crime because no one would have to steal or commit a crime to obtain money or nutrition. To sum up, lightening public spaces and also creating more jobs are effective ways of dealing with this trend. If governments implemented these solutions, crime figures in urban areas would soon drop.