Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion.

The death penalty is a highly debated issue in many countries today. Some people argue that the most atrocious crimes should be punished with death while others are convinced that the execution of criminals is inhuman. This essay will discuss both merits and demerits of capital punishment along with my opinion in the subsequent paragraphs. One of the main arguments in favour of judicial executions is that they can act as deterrents against heinous crimes. It means that the fear of being sentenced to death should prevent people from committing some types of crimes such as murder, sexual assault, espionage and drug trafficking. Moreover, death sentences can be seen as a cost-saving strategy for governments since it is less expensive to execute a prisoner than to keep them in prison for life. Namely, if a criminal is executed, the government will not have to pay for the long-term costs like housing, food and medical care. On the other hand, the death penalty has lots of drawbacks. Firstly, the justice system is not perfect, hence there is the possibility of executing an innocent person. In fact, despite the legal system’s effort to ensure fairness, there have been cases where innocent people have been sentenced to death. Secondly, economic disparities are not taken into consideration. In particular, capital punishment disproportionately affects people from low-income backgrounds much more than wealthier defendants. In other words, poor defendants can not afford the cost of hiring excellent lawyers who can exculpate them, while rich people do. Therefore, the possibility to be sentenced as guilty are higher for some people than for others. To sum up, opinions on the death penalty are complex and heterogeneous. Nevertheless, I think that the pros outweigh the cons and that all countries should sentence to death criminals that commit violent crimes