Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

There is a controversial perspective heating a debate over the fact that almost all guests of museums and historical places are tourists and just a few numbers of them are locals. This essay is devoted to the reason, followed by some equivalent effective solutions to this phenomenon. Without a shadow of a doubt, there are several reasons why this trend appears. One of those is because local people can find it boring to explore regional historical exhibition halls. In other words, they are already familiar with their culture and history and may have no more new things to discover at those places. For instance, according to one survey in Vietnam, the citizens living in the proximity of Hue Imperial Citadel, which is one of the most well-known historical sites in Vietnam, seldom go there, on the grounds that they are already familiar with that place. Hence, it can be claimed that it is normal for local people to have less interest in regional historical places and galleries than visitors. However, there may be several ways to attract more regional people to the historical places and museums. To be particular, administrators of museums or historical sites should organize some intriguing activities. By doing so, they can stir up the curiosity of native residents in order to attract more domestic people. Hỏa Lò prison can be cited as an outstanding example, it has several occasional activities, such as let the guests experience how to get out of that prison, to draw more local citizens. Thus, I believe that these locations can attract numerous regional people with these new policies. To conclude, it seems logical that the locals have less interest in regional exhibition halls and historical locations than holidaymakers because they already clearly know about these places. Nevertheless, the managers of these destinations can launch more interesting event to appeal the regional citizens