Nowadays, distance-learning programs have gained popularity, but some people argue that online courses can never be as good as those taken at a college or university in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today, we are seeing more and more colleges have started to adopt remote learning schemes. While some people prefer studying remotely, I am all for the view that attending college on-site still has advantages not achievable from a long distance. Admittedly, there are several reasons why distance education is becoming more prevalent in universities. One could be the convenience and flexible time management it offers are in line with college students’ requirements to free up time for internships, volunteering, and other off-campus activities while managing a demanding course load at university. That said, I would like to argue that taking college courses in person can stand out in several ways. Firstly, offline learning schemes provide people with vast opportunities for physical contact. People apply to universities aiming for academic excellence and sophisticated interpersonal skills for future careers. For example, offline communications can be more intimate and spontaneous when you meet like-minded people from other majors and are willing to add them to your professional network in the future. In contrast, virtual classrooms tend to lack social components in every aspect when class attendants can only communicate remotely via the internet. Secondly, many disciplines, such as engineering, architecture, and construction, involve extensive technical workshops not able to be achieved online. For instance, students from civil engineering often need to complete varied practical programs throughout their college education, consisting of a wide range of technical tasks based on teamwork, let alone advice and supervision of assistants. There isn’t doubt that distance education schemes solely cannot meet all these requirements of a teamwork environment and workshop tools and needed facilities. In conclusion, although the trend towards distance courses at university seems firm and irreversible, I would argue that it will not completely stop people from physically attending college.