Nowadays, more and more children play computer games. Why do you think this is the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

In the past decade, the popularity of video games has been increasing at a high pace. More and more youngsters spend most of their time playing computer games instead of studying and being engaged in sports activities. There are several reasons for that trend, and, in my opinion, it is a negative process that can cause serious harm to particular people and society in general. Firstly, there are quite obvious reasons for developing the situation in that way. Video games themselves are more interesting and entertaining than other games, like board games. They attract the attention of more and more children all over the globe, due to their variety of genres, ability to play online with other people, colourfulness, and realism. This last word ‘realism’ contains another important cause for the rising popularity of computer games - their capability to substitute real life. Morden video games provide their users with a simple environment where they can achieve results faster, easier, and in a more predictable way, without any consequences if they did something wrong. Therefore, forcing more young men to choose this substitute for real life. I think that this ongoing trend has definitely a negative and detrimental effect. First of all, pupils, while playing, lose essential time that they could spend on their education and development, thus decreasing their chances to get a well-paid job and reach a high social and financial level in the future. Secondly, spending most of their time playing is harmful to their mental health. According to research conducted last year, schoolchildren who spend more than 3 hours a day playing games have weaker concentration, attentiveness, and consequently lower academic performance in general, than their peers who play less. To conclude, video games have become realistic and simple alternatives to the real world, which boosts their widespread all over the world. And I am sure, that it is a harmful and not positive way of developing the young generation.