Write about the following topic. Some people think living in big cities is bad for people’s health. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

Metropolitan areas around the world are developing rapidly and more people are moving towards these areas to spend their lives since there are more luxurious accommodations, job opportunities, and other facilities. However, a majority of people believe that living in a compound city makes their health deteriorate. I partially agree with the above mention statement and the following essay will further elaborate with examples. Commencing, it is widely accepted that living in cities brings numerous health-related issues for people. Firstly because of vehicle congestion in the heart of the city. People use personal vehicles instead of public transport which combusts a large number of harmful gases into the air and this air is inhaled by individuals residing in cities. Secondly, urban areas are crowded with people, and numerous viruses are spreading overnight so the percentage of people getting sick is extremely high. As an example, in Sri Lanka due to the increase in population around the city area people are living in flats which are contagious with a great number of diseases such as malaria, dengue, etc. Thirdly, many youngsters and old generation people are prone to weight issues since they are addicted to fast food outlets around the area. On the other hand, cities are the place which is developed when compared to the other areas in the country. Besides, there are many job opportunities for people who are highly paid salaries and a vast number of hospitals and other organizations. When considering hospitals, experienced doctors and other staff members are working in city hospitals and many people from rural areas come to take medicine from these hospitals which are also luxurious. As an example, in Sri Lanka rural hospitals are unable to treat the patients they are immediately transferred to hospitals located around metropolitan areas because they have more developed devices and facilities. Therefore, even if people get sick living in cities they have other alternatives to visiting hospitals. In conclusion, I partially agree that living in urban areas makes people sick due to air pollution, fast food stores, and infectious diseases, but the opportunities cities provide for people are enormous and individuals can overcome their health issues by getting proper medications from developed hospitals.