Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we are no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that adverts are very successful to attract us to purchase things, however, others believe that these become so frequent that no one pays attention to it. While too many advertisements make the purpose of adverts useless, I believe that relevant adverts can persuade us to buy items. On the one hand, when we see ads too often, we tend to feel that unworthy stuff is shown to us. This is because there is a perception in the public that average quality product owners give more advertisement to boost sales. To illustrate, my friend recently purchased a product from an e-commerce website which is of very good quality. I saw an advertisement for this product many times but I ignored it because I felt too frequent ads most of the time misleading. However, I do not agree with this school of thought because of the reason elucidated below. On the other hand, the relevance of advertisement is an important aspect to persuade people to buy a certain product. This is to say that most companies target interest-based advertisements and this actually helps marketing companies to attract people to buy their products. To illustrate, a recent study by Cambridge University found that if interest-based items are shown to people, they are 40% more likely to purchase a product. Therefore, I agree with this statement because advertisement can encourage us to buy products. In conclusion, although people are not paying much attention to adverts because people feel distracted by repeated ads, I believe that advertisers attract people to buy their stuff by showing interest-based adverts.