Some people claim that public museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historic objects and works of art by using a computer. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is no doubt that the public can access artworks through computers. Therefore, it has been suggested that there is no need for museums and galleries. However, I strongly disagree with this statement. Admittedly, people can appreciate a piece of artwork through a computer, whereas people who visit offline museums and galleries can have a firsthand visiting involvement which engages more senses, such an experience can leave visitors with a great impression of what they have visited and given them a better understanding of the historical artefact. For example, if you visited the Great Wall only via a computer, you would not sense the changing times through the faded colour and might not understand how hard it is to build up the heritage. However, if you visited the historical site yourself, you would have a firsthand understanding of what had been written in the books. While computers may help people somehow gain a firsthand experience by using AI technology someday, galleries and museums can offer other benefits which are non-replaceable. The venues for appreciating artworks are not only for visiting purposes, the spaces can also assist people to meet others who share the same interest as them. Moreover, cultural heritages will be better preserved due to the charging of admission fees of museums and galleries. In conclusion, based on the evidence analyzed, despite computers can somehow help people who live in remote areas to see historical objects or artworks online, offline galleries and museums still attach great importance due to their benefits and should not suffer from disappearance.