Over time, as children grow older, the relationship they have with their parents changes. In your opinion, what role should parents have in their adult children’s lives?

With the development of children, how parents relate to them alters gradually. I believe that parents should be supportive and promote their independence so they learn to overcome various difficulties in life with more confidence. One of the primary roles of parents is to provide helpful advice so children can make better choices in life. In other words, they are expected to teach grown-up children significant social manners and rules to gain the trust of others as well as establish a better relationship with them. For example, irresponsible behaviours such as not keeping time and promises should be discouraged to be respected adults. Furthermore, the parent's role is not only to teach expected behaviours but also to encourage them to recognize the importance of cooperation and peace rather than self-satisfaction. Another essential role of parents is to promote the independence of children as they are more demanded to solve complicated problems that they come across in life. Instead of ordering what they should and should not do, which often leads to a growing conflict and distrust, parents should respect their individual decisions to achieve their goals. Thus, parents sometimes should wait patiently even when children are making mistakes, from which they learn effective solutions as they reflect on themselves. Therefore, adults should be their supporters, encouraging them to look on the bright side no matter how distressful things may seem to be. In conclusion, as children grow up, parents are expected to provide useful tips on how to live well including keeping promises and time with others. Moreover, they should promote their independence as they become warm supporters by standing by them whenever they need them.