Plastic is bad for environment. What individuals and government can do about it?

In the modern age, plastic is used intensively in everything which includes watered bottles, juice and snacks packets, pacakging various other items, containers and bags. Plastic became popular as they could be produced at a very low cost. Initially, its uage was advertised as a recyclable product. But in the later times, with the increasing problems, environmentalists and reasearchers revealed there are seven types of plastics and only plastic of type five to seven can be recylced and reused to some extent. But these range of plastics are expensive to produce. Therefore, plastics ranging from one to four are frequently used and they contribute only to waste. There are various reasons why usage of the plastic is problematic to the environment. Firstly, if we try to throw plastic in the garbage then the land where it is dumped becomes heavy as plastic does not decompose. Hence, we need more and more land to bury plastic garbage. Secondly, as we were falling short of land, people starting throwing it in the water. It was observed that it harms aquatic flora and fauna adversely. For example: lake in the Delhi city has revealed that its marine life was reduced by 60% due to the plastic dumps. Additionally, it is ruining the quality of water and causing blocks in the water pipes. When these two solutions failed miserably, lastly, some of the Governments tried buring their plastic waste and this caused emitting of harmful gases. These gases are known to cause chronic lung diseases and severe cough problems to the people leaving around these burning centers. As mentioned above, we cannot get rid of plastic easily so it becomes vital to lessen the use of it. There are different ways to achieve this. One of the ways is to say no to plastic bags. Instead use recyclable bags made of cloth or jute. Another way is to stop using plastic cutleries like spoons, forks and straws. Governments can bring laws around their usage. For example, Bombay Munciplaity Cooperation has passsed a law to fine anyone using plastic bags and cutlery. All the shop keepers and restaurant owners have been given stringent warnings. Law for them includes fine of Rs 5000 and risk of shutting down business if they are found guilty. For individuals, fine for Rs 1000 per bag if they are found carrying plastic bags. Moreover, use of bottled waters and cups should be reduced. This can be achieved if as an individual we try to use reusable bottles like stainless steel bottles or copper bottles. Government can motivate individuals by reducing prices of these bottles and providing water refilling stations. For example: most of the railway stations in Mumbai have cheap water refilling centers. Another way to lessen the usage is by conducting various campaigns. If these campaigns are led by famous celebrities or influencers, then they can reach larger audience. Environmentalists and Government can use social media to spread this awareness. For instance: Virat Kohli who is captain for Indian cricket team did an advertisement for using reusable bottles which had a very wide impact. To conclude, usage of plastic is harmful for the environment so Government and individuals should work hand in hand to get rid of plastic or at least lessen usage of it.