Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some are of the opinion that the extinction of certain plants and animals is the biggest environmental issue of our generation, while others including myself believe there are other major issues related to the environment such as climate change. It is argued that the disappearance of particular species is a major concern. If necessary actions are not taken when a species is endangered, it can become extinct from the ecosystem. Even though this is considered a threat to our environment, there are other major problems we should worry about. Extinction is a part of a natural process of evolution and is considered normal in the ecosystem. For instance, there are many species like mammoths and dinosaurs that disappeared from our earth. However, most of the other species are still living in the world, therefore extinction is crucial for the equilibrium of this earth. On the other hand, there are bigger problems such as climate change and industrial pollution which pose significant threats to the environment. Industrial pollution is an inevitable problem of our time. This contributes to the greenhouse effect eventually leading to global warming. This not only poses threat to the human species but also to the entire lives of the earth. For example, increasing industrial pollution including plastic has polluted the majority of the ocean and the lives in it. Moreover, melting glaciers contributes to the rising sea level which has a negative impact on lives on land therefore, humankind should be more concerned about these calamities. In conclusion, although the loss of certain plants and animal species is considered one of the major environmental problems, In my opinion, problems like climate change contribute more threats to the equilibrium of this earth.