Advertising has become an unavoidable part of everyone’s life. Some people say that advertising is a positive part of our lives while others say it is a negative one. Discuss both views and include your opinion.

Nowadays, advertisements have become very crucial for many companies to attract more customers and now, it is an inevitable part of everyone’s life. Some people opine that advertisements play an important role in our lives while others disagree. In this essay, I will discuss what I consider as the benefits of advertisements, as well as some negative effects associated with them. To begin with, it is very important for a consumer to be aware of the products available in the market that can fulfil their needs and advertisements helps customers to gain such information. Customers have more bargaining power now as they have more options in the market and can buy better products. For example, many retail stores release weekly offers with great discounts that help consumers know about the product as well as save some money. However, most advertisements have exaggerated information that doesn’t really cater for the needs of a customer and often forces them to buy the product out of curiosity. Companies use attractive packaging and use famous celebrities because of which customers buy such products even if they don’t need them. One such example is the fairness cream that has tag lines to make skin fair in one week. Matter of fact, no such cream can change skin colour as melanin is responsible for one’s skin colour. In conclusion, although advertisements can make customers aware of products in the market and take informed decisions, there is a downside which can lead many customers to buy products which are not really needed. In my opinion, advertising is a crucial part of our lives and the negative effects can be avoided by taking responsible decisions.