Some people believe that modern architecture has made cities more attractive in the last century. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays the tendency of building more modern architecture is becoming extremely popular. Some people are sure that it may make cities and towns more attractive. Personally I believe that this tendency is wrong and I disagree with the popularization of new buildings. First of all, these modern constructions lead to the fact that all the cities look similar, that’s why they are not unique and not attractive for some people. All megalopolises have the same skyscrapers and infrastructure so it is not very interesting to explore their streets and cultural places. In my opinion all modern cities have no soul. If we compare the newest and the oldest towns, it is clear to see that the second ones have more mysterious and attractive atmospheres, more unique and important places, which are important for preserving the history of these cities. For example, Suzdal has a lot of important and popular locations and it is easy to recognise this town with only one photo. But as for New York, people couldn't identify this city for sure because it’s not unique. Secondly, modern architecture is made with worse materials than ancient ones. Of course the technologies are developing every day, but a lot of people complain about bad noise insulation, the spread of bacterias and poor stability of the latest buildings. They are not interested in living there, especially while these constructions are much more expensive than other ones. For example, people often prefer to live in a quiet district in an old building because they are completely satisfied with the price-quality ratio. In conclusion, it is clear that the popularization of modern architecture is not attractive for all people. This tendency can lead to urban deterioration because the construction of new buildings should be moderate.