Some people believe that all children should have a pet or an animal to look after. Other people disagree, however, saying that this depends on a child’s circumstances. Consider these opposing views, and give your own opinion.

It is believed by some that children can benefit by having animals as their pets. However, the issue is not entirely straightforward, and arguments can also be made against the idea. This essay will discuss the debate, and give a concluding view. On the one hand, those who support the ownership of pets cite that by taking care of animals, kids can learn to empathize with other living things. This helps kids develop emotional intelligence, as they are required to understand and respond to the needs of their pets. Furthermore, the emotional support that youth receive from pets. For example, when a child is feeling sad or anxious, cats can provide comfort during those difficult times just by being close to their owner. By contrast, opponents of this view point out that not all children live in a condition where pet keeping is necessary, or even possible. For instance, in lower-income households, due to being unable to afford an extra expense, maintaining a pet may be prohibitive. In addition, many youths live in unstable family conditions, where their parents are usually not in their home all day. This can be dangerous as it leaves the child alone with the pet without any supervision. Finally, it must be said that not all young people actually want to keep a pet, because their interests lie elsewhere. To conclude, I believe that for it to serve the interests of both the youngsters and the pets, the decision to keep living things should be based on a child's interest, ability, and family circumstances, rather than on a general belief that every "young people" can benefit in having a pet.