Some people believe that the purpose of prison is to punish, while others argue that rehabilitation is its primary role. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a general belief that imprisonment serves the role of punishing delinquent individuals, whereas others cherish the idea of rehabilitation when it comes to prisons. Both viewpoints hold rational arguments but I shall put forward a different perspective in the ensuing paragraphs. Incarceration for many is utilised by the judicial system so that outlaws are placed away from the community. Therefore, by being confined in a cell, inmates are set apart from the rest. In that way, some think crime is halted. But could it be that easy? Had the state put in jail more people would that mark the end of wrongdoing? This view holds that jails through the denial of freedom set an example for many to be deterred from evil deeds. However, that is obviously not the sole scope of sending someone behind bars. First and foremost, many such premises are called correctional institutions. Moreover, historically prisons were known by other names such as penitentiary buildings. Although there always has been a reason for those titles, people seem to underestimate the original meaning. Nowadays rehabilitation and incorporation back into society are crucial for ex-prisoners. Educational schemes could be initiated with the participation of prisoners with substantial engagement in proper facilities, while cooperation may be strengthened between fellow prisoners. These could potentially aid ex-inmates to meet challenges in life after they will have been released. In conclusion, prisons can not merely serve as segregation from the rest of the free world, and as a form of torment. The time served behind walls could prove beneficial for incarcerated individuals and the rest of the community, too. Because this purpose employs means of restorative justice.