Nowadays many teenagers have a celebrity who they follow as a role model. Some people think this is not a good idea, because celebrities often set a bad example. Do you agree or disagree

These days, despite the general tendency among adolescents to take media icons as role models, it is believed by many that this trend has deleterious impacts on teenagers because media icons usually present bad examples. I totally agree with this stance for social and economic reasons. The first and also the biggest concern relates to the detrimental impact on societies. When teenagers become exposed to violent content in action movies which are presented by superstars, they will try to imitate these scenes owing to the lack of life experience along with the absence of parental supervision. Consequently, some social ills such as drug dealing, atrocities and alcoholism will pervade. Furthermore, in later life, these young people will not be able to become good mothers and parents to their minors which in turn will cause a tear in the social fabric as a result of increased divorce rates. Further and even more concerning, though, is the economic implications of such a trend. Watching various products which are endorsed by public figures eventually will boost the desire of young people to purchase these commodities. Accordingly, this will put financial constraints on parents' shoulders. One particularly salient example of this is the increasing desire among teenagers to purchase the Addidas products after being branded by Mo Salah. Moreover, not only do famous figures yield fiscal problems, but also they may lead to poor relations between parents and their minors since the ultimate aim of some advertisements is to subtly force adolescents to purchase the latest trends. In conclusion, I am convinced that taking media icons as role models is detrimental owing to their negative impacts on social and financial aspects.