In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Technology has already reached a level beyond anybody’s expectations. It is said that all vehicles like cars, buses and trucks will be driverless in the coming future and there will only be travellers sitting peacefully inside such vehicles. Just like every garden has its weeds, this technology also has merits and demerits, but the positives are far more than their negatives. Upcoming paragraphs will discuss the same. To begin with the disadvantages, because of such vehicles, a huge number of people might go unemployed. In our society, many people earn their bread by driving either cars, trucks or buses and due to such vehicles, there are chances for them to lose their jobs. To cite an example, I would mention one of my cousins who used to drive a car in Dubai, but the owner deployed him after buying a new Tesla car which is a driverless car. On the contrary, the first advantage of this technology would be that it will be of great assistance in reducing the number of road accidents. Studies have shown that a maximum number of accidents occur as a result of human errors; hence, such technologies would definitely be helpful in decreasing this number. Secondly, it will bring the life of older society to ease as they find it difficult to drive. Finally, people nowadays travel long distances to work from their home and vice versa which take hours. Consequently, by the time they reach back home, they are exhausted and can not enjoy their family time which makes their life monotonous. For example, I drive 50 kilometres to reach my office which takes one and a half hours. With the invention of this technology, I can be more relaxed while travelling and can utilize that time in doing something productive like reading. To conclude, I would say that besides lesser employment opportunities for those who work as chauffeurs for others, there are numerous benefits that can be ascertained from this technology. As the positives outweigh the negatives so; it can be considered a good change.