In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is commonly claimed that those physical media content - such as printed newspapers, magazines or books will no longer exist and be replaced by free digital media. Personally, I entirely disagree this notion. Firstly, not all contents are easily read using digital devices. Secondly, even though a great deal of contents are free online, some high-quality articles or books are needed to pay. Some books with rich images or diagrams are hard to read on computers. Children’s book is one example, which has plenty of colorful paintings to attract kids’ attention and give rise to their imaginations. In this case, if children read content online, the light from the screens might damage their eyesights. Furthermore, they are hard to focus on the content if they can’t touch or interact with those rich images. In addition, most free contents online don’t suit everyone’s taste. Therefore, some people may choose to pay to some books or media platform for their interests. For example, Amazon’s book store provides several free books to readers. However, most popular or latest books are needed to pay. New York Times is another example that allows people to read 5 news per month, but for read more, readers have to pay monthly fee to access more. In conclusion, even though many free contents are easily accessible online, those still can not fit everyone’s interest, children, latest or high-quality content consumers, to name but a few, Thus, I believe physical media might reduce their customers, but they will not disappear on the publishing market.