Many people believe that women make better parents than men and that this is why they have the greater role in raising children in most societies. Others claim that men are just as good as women at parenting. Write an essay expressing your point of view. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

In the last few decades, there has been a noticeable shift in the way that families are structured due to people challenging gender roles. When it comes to raising children, I believe that ideas such as “motherly instincts” and “career-oriented men ” are stereotypical and not enough to conclude that women are more capable parents than men. Motherly instincts in females are one of the most popular points that people make in order to support their opinion that men lack parenting skills. This is not a valid argument, as it has been proven that there are many women who clearly do not possess any feelings of unconditional and endless love for their offspring. Vivid examples of this are the multiple cases of female criminals who were arrested for causing great harm to their own babies. Therefore, being a mother alone cannot be a criterion for judging one’s parenting skills. Another commonly used statement is that men are mainly focused on their careers, while women are usually housewives, and therefore they can spend more time with their offspring. This concept has no base, though, as modern women tend to choose to work on their careers almost as much as men. This is clearly indicated by the statistics of the last decades, which show a great rise in the number of women that prioritize work over children. Overall, there are no actual reasons to believe that women would play a greater role in raising a child. Most of the arguments made to support this gender gap are fueled by the remains of dated beliefs.