Some people believe that all children should have a pet or an animal to look after. Other people disagree, however, saying that this depends on a child’s circumstances. Consider these opposing views, and give your own opinion.

Some people think that all kids should take care of pets in their houses, but others believe it's not an obligation and it depends on the children's situation. Basically, a society that believes that kids should have a pet merely want to teach them about compassion. If the children have a pet to look after, it will grow their emotional intelligence such as empathy. For example, kids who have a cat, a dog, a rabbit and etc tend to be caring since they have a duty to feed, take care of, and ascertain their pet's prosperity in order to grow well. Therefore, having a pet is really recommended for children to nurture their compassion and empathy. On the other side, some communities believe that children can do whatever they want to make themselves happy, including having a pet or not. They tend to believe that having a pet is not an obligation for children, but it depends on their condition. For instance, some children who have allergic to fur, or are sick, are encouraged to not interact with animals due to their well-being and safety. That's why this recommendation is considered optional. In a nutshell, having a pet can nurture children's compassion and empathy. Despite being useful for them, it can also harm children who have a particular issue within themselves such as sickness or allergies. I believe that having an animal to take care of is an alternative in part of children's education, but we have to read the situation as well, whether it's a good choice and relevant for them, or not.