Today parents spend little time with their children. Why is this the case? Who are more affected: parents or children?

Nowadays, parents spend far less time with their kids than people did in the past. This essay will explore why this is, and attempt to explain the effects of this phenomena To begin with, parents prioritize other things over spending time with their youngsters. Namely, factors such as career progress and financial stability might be considered more important than family life. It is the case of all those people who have demanding jobs that require long hours and a lot of travel, making it difficult for them to spend time with their sons. Moreover, the development of technology and the rise of digital devices have had an impact on communication and social interactions. In other words, adults and young people spend a significant amount of time on their smartphones and gaming consoles, leading to less face-to-face interaction and less time spent engaging with others. This can be particularly true for families who may find themselves sitting in the same room but not communicating with one another. Next, it is important to consider who is more affected, parents or children. In my opinion, both parties are equally affected, but over different time frames. On the one hand, children need guidance and supervision in order to develop into healthy and responsible adults. In fact, without appropriate education and mentoring, children risk falling into a life of crime. On the other hand, parents could experience hardships as a result of the lack of time spent with their offspring. In particular, it may lead to a sense of guilt, stress or regret and, in the worst cases, it could cause mid-life crises once parents realize that they have not lived an appropriate family life. In conclusion, the focus on career advancement and the rise in technology are two of the main factors that contribute to parents spending less time with their babies, leading to negative consequences for both, parents and children. However, we can not define who is more affected, because even if completely different from one another, consequences have the same weight for adults and kids.