Some people prefer to live alone. Others enjoy sharing a house with family or friends. Do the advantages of living with others outweigh the disadvantages?

It is widely acknowledged that we are living in an increasingly isolated world. Although some individuals claim to enjoy their somewhat solitary lifestyle, the vast majority of us would rather share our homes and our lives with others. The drawbacks of living with others are indeed in plain sight. Firstly, one ’s roommates may behave in ways one finds annoying: they might play loud music, leave a mess in the kitchen or spend hours in the bathroom. However, with some tact and diplomacy, these issues can usually be overcome. Another apparent disadvantage of sharing is that one has to take other residents’ wishes and opinions into account. Nevertheless, saving to consider the needs of those one shares the apartment with, one probably becomes more sensitive, caring and a generally kinder and more likeable person. Besides this, living with loved ones or flatmates is healthier because it is essential that we have warm human contact and that we interact and share our experiences with fellow humans. From a practical viewpoint, those who live with friends or family can save money by splitting utility bills, rent and food costs. They can also save time by dividing household chores such as cooking, dusting, washing up and ironing. Obviously, a house with more inhabitants is likely to be occupied more of the time and is therefore at reduced risk of burglary or break-in. In conclusion, while there are some drawbacks to living with others, for example in the form of frustration and having to make compromises, these are outstripped by the positives including better mental health, savings in money and time, and increased personal security.