In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It is considered in different countries that young people should do work and travel after their intermediate before starting higher education. In my opinion, this could be a good practice for them to identify their capabilities and interest before specialized studies. However, it has certain drawbacks too because of underage. To start with, this is certainly true that practical work and experience are essential for any person. It makes him develop early skills which can be beneficial in future. After schooling, most students face difficulties to choose any specific career. Eventually, they start studying subjects according to the trend which will lead them towards a lack of interest in studies. It is the best option for them to work for some time after their intermediate level, so they can develop an interest in any field according to their abilities. This will also make them face hardships and challenges at different stages. On the other hand, early age working and travelling can lead to some serious problems. Teenagers have less exposure towards different activities and they follow the bad habits of their seniors and colleagues. For example, they start smoking and spending more time in useless activities, including excessive use of social media, after getting a free environment. Some cannot continue their studies after a huge gap and they ultimately focus to continue current satisfactory jobs. To conclude, it is essential for students to have a certain knowledge of the subjects that they want to continue. They should be participated in work or travelling to recognize their core competencies. At the same time, parents should also take more care of their children during this period for better results.