Some believe that nuclear weapons benefit the world at large. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that the weaponization of nuclear energies would, by and large, exert positive impacts on the world. From my perspective, though history is rife with deadly mass devastations caused by the abuse of nuclear weapons as a means for destructive ends, the adoption of nuclear arms only in extreme cases for defence, coupled with the proper exploitation of the underlying technology, would greatly benefit the world. Detractors of nuclear- energy -based weapons ground their arguments on multiple catastrophic events in the past. Throughout history, nuclear weapons, such as nuclear bombs and nuclear firearms detonated from military aeroplanes, have mostly been associated with millions of lives lost, devastating destruction to the attacked countries’ infrastructure, and even potential bodily deformations for generations. Examples of nuclear-weapon-caused catastrophes abound, but the most salient one was none other than the bombing of Nagasaki, Japan in World War II. The result of this event shocked the world with outrageous numbers of human casualties and infrastructure wreckage. Events of such magnitude set countries back decades economically, leaving behind anguished suffering and resentment. The above justification is valid, however, the enormous potential of the underlying technology behind nuclear weapons has largely been overlooked, which could revolutionize the global energy scene with proper regulation. Many longitudinal scientific studies in the field of quantum physics have conclusively pointed out the overwhelming amount of energy that could be produced if a nuclear generator, such as an arc reactor, was successfully fabricated. The energy generated from such an operation could provide a nearly limitless supply of energy to not only power all industries but also provide mankind with sustainable sources, reducing the reliance on fossil fuels. This technology, though currently in development, has enormous potential. Moreover, only by relegating the weaponization of nuclear technologies to defence purposes in extreme cases should the safety of our society be safeguarded. Unless the destructive nature of this type of weapon is carefully scrutinized, the prospect of world wars and future instabilities will be of concern. In conclusion, despite historical evidence related to mass destruction and human loss, I concede that the potential of nuclear weapons, given the ethical exploitation of its technology and regulation, would contribute to benefiting the world as a whole. Governments should work in tandem to carry out research to capitalize on the potential of nuclear energy.