The global demand for oil and gas is increasing. Some believe that we should therefore encourage the exploitation of remote areas. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There is an increasing amount of energy demand such as gas and oil in the world due to the energy crisis mainly caused by the Russian invasion and an increasing number in the global population. While some people argue that they need to extract such natural resources in a remote region. This statement may not take advantage of the drawbacks as there are several reasons and facts discussed below. First and foremost, it would be a catastrophe if a country grabbed an island affluent with natural resources without peaceful negotiation. For instance, Russia, which has been registered as the most notorious country in the world, took the island in the past. According to some experts, this grabbing resulted in a quarrel between Russians and Ukrainians. Rather than getting more resources in a part of the area in another country, Russia should have developed technology such as renewable energy. Secondly, if a considerable number of people seeked more energy in rural areas, living things would lose their habitats mainly affected by the destruction of the environment as well as deforestation. For example, a developer in some industrialised countries may contribute to the loss of biodiversity in Amazon forests, leading to a significant decline of different species in the area. To conclude, if we keep getting more and more resources in the countrysides, we tend to lose lots of both tangible and intangible things, Therefore, I believe that we should advance eco-friendly technologies and focus on the path toward a more sustainable world.