Some people think that schools should choose students according to their academic abilities, while others think it is better to have students of different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion

Criteria for student recruitment of schools is always a difficult issue to set. While some individuals suppose that academic capabilities are the most important factor, a mixture of various capacities are obviously able to evaluate a student much more comprehensively. On the one hand, academic ability can be good criteria for choosing students. Firstly, students, who get a good mark throughout the process of learning, are usually considered to have a high level of intelligent queries which is an essential and popular scale of assessing human potential. Besides, even above fact is not completely accurate, excellent scholastic possibilities maybe demonstrate that students have put much efforts in their studying, which is utterly an important determinant for success in the future. Furthermore, that this way of choosing student has been implemented for so long proves the valid value of this method. Clearly, using academic abilities is a rational and irreplaceable method, but it is not enough for marking students on the whole. On the other hand, students have to be assessed by some other scales. To be more specific, each student has their own strengths and weakness, therefore, academic abilities are not the only scale to assess students. For example, some students can have some special skills or talents like singing, drawing and so forth, which no particular scale can evaluate. Besides, having students of different abilities studying together creates opportunity for them to learn from each other and mutually collaborate to make something special in the future. Obviously, the importance is that schools should have an appropriate portfolio of students, which need to ensure the development of both students ’ education and general schools quality. In conclusion, both of these two perspectives are reasonable. Even though, integrated assessment method is basically necessary application for schools to choose students effectively.