Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for, and allow their children to do whatever they want. Is this a good way to raise children? What consequences could this style of parenting have for children as they get older?

Accommodating all children ’s needs is frequently considered a controversial nurturing way advocated by many parents nowadays. Personally, this is not a rational method of raising children because it leaves some consequences for children. To begin with, it is widely accepted that giving and letting children do whatever they want is not an appropriate way of raising them. Firstly, offering every children ’s demand can create such an unfavourable habit of having anything they need, even if that demand is not suitable for them. Therefore, some children may not know how to appreciate and understand the real value of what they get in life. Moreover, if children ’s requirements are not reasonable and even negative, some of them will be affected dreadfully. For instance, if children want to try cigarettes and their parents still approve, this will gradually lead to many sheer consequences in future. Obviously, all these effects can make children become troublesome people. Subsequently, this style of nurturing will lead to two apparent consequences when children get older. Firstly, when children have been pleased for a long time by their parents, they may misunderstand that everyone would follow their demands as obvious. Since then, if any of their need is not met, some of them easily get unpleasant and have discourteous attitudes to people themaround the around. In addition, because of having been spoilt too well by parents from a young age, the children are not used to difficulties in life. Hence, they do not know how to deal with sudden failure and obstacles by themselves, which may gradually make them become dependent in the long run. In conclusion, parents should not agree with all children ’s needs because this way can make them not appreciate what they have and be affected negatively if those requirements are unreasonable. Also, being pampered can lead children to have unthoughtful attitudes to others and even confront many fatal failures in later life.