In the past, lectures were used as a way of teaching large numbers of student, but now with the development of technology for education, many people think there is no justification for attending lectures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

in recent years, Technology has transformed our lives making it much easier to learn and travel therefore replacing traditional ways of learning with yet great alternatives such as online learning and online exams where students can engage with lecturers or examiners from anywhere in the world. similarly, the prominent issue of having classes with a certain capacity of students is no longer a problem. in the meanwhile, the majority of people are suggesting that there is no need for attending lectures in person since technology has an answer to that. in this essay, I will illustrate why there is no need for attending lectures in person. In the past, Universities and colleges provide knowledge to students through lectures. in addition, students used to attend these lectures in-person and can only attend these lectures once and if they don't take notes during the lecture they might forget what the lecturer has said. now, with advancements in communication technology, students can attend these lectures online and take notes and even listen to the lecture multiple times thus increasing the effectiveness of learning. according to a survey from the University of Toronto reveals that 70% of students prefer online learning over attending lectures. this shows that most students prefer online learning over offline learning. on the other hand, many students argue that not all lectures can be taught online such as chemistry or physics, these lectures require students to apply what they have learned by conducting experiments and utilizing laboratory tools and specimens. therefore, it's evident that online learning can't replace offline learning. according to an educational policy at the University of Waterloo, students are now obligated to attend at least 8/10 laboratory classes during the school semester otherwise students are deemed to retain the school year. we can conclude from the survey it's impossible for students to miss those crucial learning opportunities. to sum up, I honestly believe that a balance between online lectures and offline lectures would increase learning effectiveness and reduce school overhead.