Childhood obesity is being a serious problem in many countries. What are the causes of this? What solutions can be offered?

Children throughout the world are becoming overweight and there is a pressing need to solve this issue. Several factors such as a sedentary lifestyle and unhealthy meals have led to this issue, but there are measures that can be taken to solve this problem. Children prefer to stay indoors and do activities with no movement at all. This is primarily because video games have altered the way children like to do activities, as most of these games are played on an electronic device and require no movement. This has even been observed among toddlers who prefer to play games on their tablets instead of running around in a park. An unhealthy diet is another reason why these many children have gained weight. As parents are occupied at work, they are not able to prepare healthy meals for their kids. This results in eating sugary snacks and unhealthy take-out food. A well-known example of this is America where many parents are overworked and cannot cook due to their limited time at home and therefore need to order from restaurants. Fortunately, there are things that can be done to resolve this issue. Firstly, physical education classes can be included in school programs in order to increase their fitness level. Secondly, schools can offer home-cooked meals on their lunch menu so kids would have healthier options to choose from. Finally, parents can take their young ones to the park on the weekend instead of staying home so they can move around and do some physical activity. To conclude, the major problem of obesity caused by consuming unhealthy meals and living a non-active lifestyle can be solved by different measures taken by both schools and parents.