The world is experiencing a dramatic increase in population. This is causing problems not only for the poor in undeveloped countries but also for industrialised and developing nations. Describe some of the problems that overpopulation causes and suggest at least one possible solution.

Overpopulation is one of the major current problems that the world needs to face. This situation gives as a result of different problems caused by different aspects and then needs specific solutions. One of the major problems that overpopulation causes is the impact that has on the environment. Although CO2 emissions have been increasing since the industrial revolution, the current problem is the increase of all this pollution and its contribution directly to the main problem. For example, due to the number of old cars producing exhaust fumes and driving in the cities, the air quality has decreased and is causing respiratory illnesses. However, the solution is in the hands of the government, which could regulate which cars can enter the city centre but can also encourage the population with funding to replace their automobiles with new environmentally friendly ones. Another big problem that overpopulation has created is the decrease of resources, such as alimentation. Nowadays, there is not enough food for everyone in the way people used to consume. For instance, the diet of Western countries includes many animal products, more than would be necessary. For this reason, it is required that the population changes their diets in order to be able to produce more crops and reduce animal-based products. In addition, the surface and resources demanded to grow crops are a small percentage of the quantity required for feeding animals. To conclude, both issues are caused due to overpopulation and both of them are in the hands of humans to be reduced, in order to be able to live in a balanced world, where climate change and resources are not an issue.