Genetic engineering is an important issue in society today . Some people think that it will improve people's lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be threat to life on earth . Discuss both views and give your opinion

Nowadays, genetic engineering is considered beneficial research in science. People have different opinions about whether this progress is advantageous for mankind or not. I agree with the former view because it is more beneficial despite having its negative impacts also. Some would argue that genetic engineering might be a threat to the human population because of some elements. The primary fact is that it reduces the nutritional value of food. When crops are genetically modified, the natural components get lost and produce unhealthy food.One common example can be seen in poultry farms where chicks are undergoing genetic modifications and the chicken is tasteless. Another drastic matter is that it causes various skin problems. Many people are willing to change the colour of their skin through genetic science. Unfortunately,they become victims of skin cancer. However, some people favour genetic science because of the reason that it prevents crops from being attacked by pests. Crops yield more if there is resistance against pests and diseases in farmland. Also, the crops sell at higher prices in the market. For instance, a Chinese farmer named Yuan logging produces a crop through genetic modifications which result in better growth of crops in a short time span without being prone to pests or ailments. Finally, genetic technologies are offering new solutions for disease control,prevention and cure.They are now being used to diagnose and treat complex illnesses such as heart disease, asthma, diabetes and cancer. In my opinion, genetic advances are worthwhile because of the above-mentioned facts. In conclusion, genetic science has both positive and negative impacts on vegetation and mankind but I agree that it is more useful in the detection of ailments and keeping the population out of starvation nevertheless despite some of its drawbacks.