Some people believe that schools should teach foreign language for primary school children. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Language is one of the essential subjects in schools. Nowadays, some institutions also incorporate foreign language studies into their primary school program. This essay will examine both benefits and drawbacks of acquiring additional language skills. However, in my,opinion the negatives outweigh the positives. There are several benefits of learning additional literacy skills. Firstly, there is an ability to learn by listening or reading content that is spoken or written in other languages. For example, when assigned to do essays, students are able to look beyond English references, and they may find better information in foreign languages. Moreover, students can gain additional competencies to apply for a job in the future. Some companies, for instance, may require their applicants to be proficient in more than one language. People who have learned foreign languages in school would be able to benefit from this opportunity. On the other hand, there are several drawbacks to teaching foreign languages without students ' consent. Indeed, there are positives. However, if students feel that they are not ready to learn new languages, it can be a burden to them and have a knock-on effect on other subjects. To illustrate this, students who do not enjoy literacy may experience distress, which impacts other learnings. Furthermore, there are uncertainties in the future. Additional languages that are learned can be redundant if students are not going to use them in the future. For instance, global acceptance of certain languages may change over time and some languages can become less viable to be used. To conclude, in my opinion, the drawbacks of foreign languages outweigh the benefits. Although, foreign languages can provide additional learning and opportunities, the difficulties in learning them and uncertainties in their usability present more risks than benefits.