The best way to teach children to cooperate is through team sports at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions differ on whether or not children’s cooperative spirit is best fostered via team sports at school. Although such a goal can be achieved through team sports in educational institutions, I believe that there are better solutions for children to acquire that quality. Admittedly, team sports are competitive by nature; therefore, players can enhance their communication skills, which is one of the qualities that many people need in their adult lives. Football players, for example, usually raise their teammates’ spirit when losing by using motivational language so that they can actively continue to participate in the match. In addition, a sense of responsibility can also be nurtured in team -involved sports, which means that players have to be responsible for their own roles within a team. A good example is Nguyen Quang Hai, who is one of the Vietnamese football players, he apologized to his fans and teammates for having not listened to others and had a poor performance as a result last year. However, the student’s involvement in team -playing sports is not the best way for them to improve their cooperation skills, as the time to take part in such activities is usually limited, and there are better long-term options at school, especially examinations and projects. Regarding the former, learners can be taught how to listen to their peers. For instance, the teacher can conduct a debate, which requires students to pay attention to their classmates’ opinions before raising their arguments. With regard to the latter, children are encouraged to develop their time management skills when participating in this form of group work, as they need to cooperate with their group mates to complete their projects before the deadline. In conclusion, despite the fact that children can learn communication skills and have a sense of responsibility via team sports, I believe that these benefits are unsustainable due to time constraints in sports participation at school. Meanwhile, other activities can boost their cooperation more effectively, especially testing and project-based learning, in the long run.