It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a mixture of people who are talented in different aspects. Some may excel in sports while others thrive in music and art. A number of people believe that by teaching such talents like music and sports at an early stage, they will become talented individuals in the future. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my opinion to conclude. Firstly, genetic inheritance is uncontrollable. It occurs with natural selection and no man has been able to interfere with it. Kids may inherit their talents from their parents and later on will be nourished and get influenced by their surroundings. For instance, Jayden Smith, the son of popular actor Will Smith, has shown fantastic acting skills throughout his career and there is no doubt that paternal inheritance of genes plays a role. Some talents like swimming and gymnastics can be taught during childhood which can eventually form great sports personnel. Even if the child lacks an innate ability, they can still be taught how to excel with high-intensity training and proper guidance. With great dedication and determination, many talents are possible to achieve. For example, a research study in the USA suggests that more than 60% of young chess masters were taught since childhood and they did not have any family background related to chess. This shows that kids can be trained to achieve the same level of talent. To conclude, in my point of view, birth inheritance does not define how a person perceives their talent and some talents can be taught from an early age however, certain talents are limited to their extent of teaching.